Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Contributions to the LGBTQA+ Community

The Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Contributions to the LGBTQA+ Community recognizes outstanding efforts to create an inclusive, respectful, and safe climate for members of the LGBTQA+ (lesbian, gay, bi/pansexual, transgender, queer, questioning, asexual, aromantic and allies, plus additional identities relevant to sexual orientation, gender identities and expression) community at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. These efforts may be by an individual, an organization or department within the institution. Previous nominees may be re-nominated. The award recipient must demonstrate a sustained and tangible impact on the campus community.

Examples of such efforts might include:

  • advocating for LGBTQA+ individuals, groups, and issues in UNL campus settings
  • promoting the professional advancement of LGBTQA+ faculty and staff members, and encouraging and supporting the recognition of service contributions beyond those normally expected
  • commitment to creating projects that promote greater awareness of LGBTQA+ issues, including actual and potential oppression, within the University
  • designing activities and programs that convey an active commitment to diversity and inclusion, personal safety and mutual respect for, and among, LGBTQA+ students, faculty, and staff

Nominations for 2023 are now open. Winners and nominees will be recognized at UNL Lavender Graduation.

Nomination Form

Congratulations to Our Chancellor's Award Winners

We are excited to celebrate our 2022 winners for the Chancellor's Award for contributions to the LGBTQA+ community.

oSTEM @ Nebraska

Katy Holland

Timothy Schaffert

Past Chancellor's Award Recipients

2021 Katherine Burger - University Housing
Corrie Svehla - Informational Techonology Services
Nicholas Harp - Student Recipient
2020 Ryan Fette - Institutional Equity and Compliance
Jen Skidmore - Engineering Student Services
Jake Piccini - Student Recipient
2019 Keith Zimmer & DaWon Baker - Athletics
Kai Meacham - Student Recipient
2018 Lawrence Chatters - Athletics, Life Skills Program
JD McCown - LGBTQA+ Center Graduate Assistant, Student Recipient
2017 Dr. Stacey Waite - Department of English
Lauren Segal & Ignacio Correas - Student Recipients
2016 Melissa Peters - Assistant Director of Residence Life for Student Leadership and Diversity Initiatives
Austin Christensen - Student Recipient
2015 Jonathan Frederick Walz - Curator at the Sheldon Museum of Art
Robert Lipscomb III & Grant Thomas - Student Recipients
2014 Danny Ladely - Director of the Mary Riepma Ross Media Arts Center
Annie Pigaga - Student Recipient
2013 J.B. Milliken - President of the University of Nebraska
Scott Schneider - Student Recipient
2012 Reverend Stephen Griffith
Emily Schlichting - Student Recipient
2011 Robin Whisman - Campus Recreation
Jason Lucht - Student Recipient
2010 James (Jim) Cole - Psychology
2009 Bill Waters - OASIS/the Culture Center
Heath Harding - Student Recipient
2008 Debbie Krahmer - University Libraries
Greg Gifford - Student Recipient
Amanda Garrett - Student Recipient
2007 Janice Deeds - Student Involvement
Father Don Hanway - Retired Pastor, St. Mark’s on the Campus & CGLBTC
Allen Ratliff - Student Recipient
2006 Debra Anne Hope - Psychology
Spectrum/QSA Transition Team - Student Recipient
2005 Joy S Ritchie - English
Kris Gandara - Student Recipient
2004 English Department - College of Arts & Sciences
Robert D Brown, Emeritus - Educational Psychology
James V. Griesen - Student Affairs
Linda Major - Student Involvement
Dan Franks - Student Recipient
2003 Louis Crompton - Emeritus, English
George E Wolf - Emeritus, English
Ryan Fette - Student Recipient
2002 Pat Tetreault - University Health Center
Barbara DiBernard - English Department
2001 Luis Diaz-Perdomo - University Health Center
2000 Vern Williams - Career Services