Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Contributions to the LGBTQA+ Community

The Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Contributions to the LGBTQA+ Community recognizes outstanding efforts to create an inclusive, respectful, and safe climate for members of the LGBTQA+ (lesbian, gay, bi/pansexual, transgender, queer, questioning, asexual, aromantic and allies, plus additional identities relevant to sexual orientation, gender identities and expression) community at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. These efforts may be by an individual, an organization or department within the institution. Previous nominees may be re-nominated. The award recipient must demonstrate a sustained and tangible impact on the campus community.

Examples of such efforts might include:

  • advocating for LGBTQA+ individuals, groups, and issues in UNL campus settings
  • promoting the professional advancement of LGBTQA+ faculty and staff members, and encouraging and supporting the recognition of service contributions beyond those normally expected
  • commitment to creating projects that promote greater awareness of LGBTQA+ issues, including actual and potential oppression, within the University
  • designing activities and programs that convey an active commitment to diversity and inclusion, personal safety and mutual respect for, and among, LGBTQA+ students, faculty, and staff

2024 Nomination Form

Winners and nominees will be recognized at UNL Lavender Graduation.

Congratulations to Our Chancellor's Award Winners

We are excited to celebrate our 2023 winners for the Chancellor's Award for contributions to the LGBTQA+ community.

Augustin Champion    |     Nathan He

Past Chancellor's Award Recipients

2023Augustin Champion - University Police
Nathan He - Nebraska Alumni Association
2022oSTEM @ Nebraska
Katy Holland - Student Recipient
Timothy Schaffert - Department of English
2021Katherine Burger - University Housing
Corrie Svehla - Informational Techonology Services
Nicholas Harp - Student Recipient
2020Ryan Fette - Institutional Equity and Compliance
Jen Skidmore - Engineering Student Services
Jake Piccini - Student Recipient
2019Keith Zimmer & DaWon Baker - Athletics
Kai Meacham - Student Recipient
2018Lawrence Chatters - Athletics, Life Skills Program
JD McCown - LGBTQA+ Center Graduate Assistant, Student Recipient
2017Dr. Stacey Waite - Department of English
Lauren Segal & Ignacio Correas - Student Recipients
2016Melissa Peters - Assistant Director of Residence Life for Student Leadership and Diversity Initiatives
Austin Christensen - Student Recipient
2015Jonathan Frederick Walz - Curator at the Sheldon Museum of Art
Robert Lipscomb III & Grant Thomas - Student Recipients
2014Danny Ladely - Director of the Mary Riepma Ross Media Arts Center
Annie Pigaga - Student Recipient
2013J.B. Milliken - President of the University of Nebraska
Scott Schneider - Student Recipient
2012Reverend Stephen Griffith
Emily Schlichting - Student Recipient
2011Robin Whisman - Campus Recreation
Jason Lucht - Student Recipient
2010James (Jim) Cole - Psychology
2009Bill Waters - OASIS/the Culture Center
Heath Harding - Student Recipient
2008Debbie Krahmer - University Libraries
Greg Gifford - Student Recipient
Amanda Garrett - Student Recipient
2007Janice Deeds - Student Involvement
Father Don Hanway - Retired Pastor, St. Mark’s on the Campus & CGLBTC
Allen Ratliff - Student Recipient
2006Debra Anne Hope - Psychology
Spectrum/QSA Transition Team - Student Recipient
2005Joy S Ritchie - English
Kris Gandara - Student Recipient
2004English Department - College of Arts & Sciences
Robert D Brown, Emeritus - Educational Psychology
James V. Griesen - Student Affairs
Linda Major - Student Involvement
Dan Franks - Student Recipient
2003Louis Crompton - Emeritus, English
George E Wolf - Emeritus, English
Ryan Fette - Student Recipient
2002Pat Tetreault - University Health Center
Barbara DiBernard - English Department
2001Luis Diaz-Perdomo - University Health Center
2000Vern Williams - Career Services